The art of befriending someone new? Alcohol.

Hunny, a party is all you need! At least that’s what works for me at this point in my life.

I feel like, at a party, expectations are so much lower (or higher) when it comes to putting yourself out there to meet new people. Especially if you’re drinking, certain walls are already let down, making it easier for other people to be let in. If not on a regular basis, people are so much realer and honest, when tipsy, drunk or even sloshed. There’s little to no filter.

People have come up to me at parties and confessed how much they admire my apparent swag, the way I walk or my looks in general, and that they’ve always wanted to know what my name was, at the least. Which is no problem, I love making new acquaintances, but of course, if we’re going to be friends, I have to be mutually interested in the other person’s life as well, whether it is solely because they’re hot, or their personality, or the way they dress, or carry themselves, or because of the people they surround themselves with. Being/becoming friends is a two way street, and whatever you do on the outside needs to intrigue me enough to make me want to know what goes on on the inside/your private life. Hunny,I have to live up to that expectation as well. Don’t get your panties in a bunch now.

You can’t have it all (as much as I want it at times). I am very happy with the few people I’ve met on a night out with whom I have grown strong and meaningful relationships with (in the friend kind of way), regardless of whether for an ephemeral amount of time or still ongoing. Any type of friendship means a great deal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for reading!

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Friendship Department | Blissful Pages

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why Can’t We Be Friends | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: I am Exhibit D! | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why Can’t We Be Friends | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Hunny, tell me 'bout it!

